Tuesday, December 06, 2005

Wait Till Next Year

From MLB.com concerning the finalists announced for the Ford C. Frick Award given to one broadcaster each year -

Three of them -- Dave Niehaus, the late Bill King and Jacques Doucet -- were selected by a fan vote, while seven others were chosen by the Frick Award Committee, comprised of former winners of the profession's highest honor and six others.

Joining Niehaus, King and Doucet on the ballot this year are Tom Cheek, Gene Elston, Ken Coleman, Denny Mathews, Dizzy Dean, Tony Kubek and Graham McNamee. Mathews and Doucet are newcomers to finalists' lineup this year, the third consecutive year fans helped choose the finalists.

All good enough choices (Bill King really has deserved it for a long time), but one glaring omission. No Richie Ashburn. Phillies fans voted for Whitey in large numbers this year, but just fell short. Next year, Ashburn will crack the top 3 and finally get the chance to gain recognition in Cooperstown (again). Next year we'll get it right.


Post a Comment

<< Home